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Selected Investigation and Reporting Requirements Established by Virginia Statute and Regulations Related to the Revocation or Suspension of a License Issued by the Virginia Board of Education
Obligations Relating to the Revocation or Suspension of a License

The Licensure Regulations for School Personnel (8VAC20-22-690 and 8VAC20-22-710) outline the procedures for revocation or suspension of a license issued by the Board of Education.  Below is a summary of the procedures and responsibilities of school boards and superintendents; however, the Code of Virginia and the regulations provide detailed procedures. The full text of the regulations is available at: http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter22/.

Duty to File a Complaint
The licensure regulations state that a complaint may be filed by anyone, but “it shall be the duty of a division superintendent, principal or other responsible school employee” [emphasis added] to file a complaint in any case in which he has knowledge that a license holder is guilty of any offense or conduct set forth in subsection A of 8VAC20-22-690 (revocation) or subsection A of 8VAC20-22-710 (suspension).

Duty to Investigate
Section 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia calls for the “immediate and thorough investigation by the division superintendent or his designee of any complaint alleging that a license holder has engaged in conduct that may form the basis for the revocation of his license” [emphasis added]. If the complaint is found to be without merit, the superintendent or his representative must notify the complaining party and close the file.  If the division superintendent or school board determines there is reasonable cause to believe the complaint is well founded, the license holder “shall be notified of the complaint by a written petition” [emphasis added] for revocation or suspension signed by the division superintendent.  See subsection C of 8VAC20-22-690 for revocation and subsection C of 8VAC20-22-710 for suspension.  

Duty to Send Any Request for Cancellation from License Holder to the Superintendent of Public Instruction Within 14 Days of Receipt
As set forth in the regulations, a petition for revocation or suspension must include a statement of rights that notifies the license holder of the right to request the cancellation of his license by sending a signed written request to the division superintendent within 14 days of receipt of the petition.  To request cancellation, the license holder must state that he is requesting cancellation in response to a petition, acknowledge that reasons for cancellation are the same as reasons for revocation, and acknowledge that he understands that the revocation or suspension will be reported to division superintendents in Virginia and to state education officials in other states and territories of the United States.

The regulations (see 8VAC20-22-690 F(1) for revocation and 8VAC20-22-710F(1) for suspension) require that a division superintendent forward any request for cancellation, along with a copy of the petition, to the Superintendent of Public Instruction within       14 days of receipt of the request for cancellation.  

Obligation to Proceed to a Hearing Before Local School Board, if License Holder Does Not Request Cancellation Within 14 Days
If a license holder does not submit a request for cancellation to the division superintendent according to the procedures set forth in the regulations within 
14 days of receipt of the petition, the local school board “shall proceed” to a hearing on the petition and shall provide the license holder at least 14 days’ notice of the hearing. The Code of Virginia requires that the school board conduct this hearing within 90 days of mailing a copy of the petition to the license holder. The Code also requires that at the time the hearing is scheduled, the local school board must provide a copy of the investigative file and petition to the Superintendent of Public Instruction.

After School Board Hearing, Duty to Forward School Board’s Recommendation Within 14 Days for Revocation, and Promptly for Suspension
At the hearing, the local school board receives the recommendation of the division superintendent and then either dismisses the complaint or recommends license revocation or suspension.  If the complaint is dismissed, such decision is final and the investigative file “shall be closed and maintained as a separate file.  Any record or material relating to the charges in any other file shall be placed in the investigative file.”  

However, if the school board recommends the revocation of a license, subsection F of 8VAC20-22-690 requires that, “the division superintendent shall forward the recommendation . . . to the Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days” [emphasis added].   

If the school board recommends the suspension of a license, subsection F of 8VAC20-22-710 requires that such “recommendation, along with supporting evidence, shall promptly be forwarded by the division superintendent to the Superintendent of Public Instruction” [emphasis added].  

Additional Notification Responsibility
Duty to Notify the Board of Education of Teacher Dismissal or Resignation in Certain Cases (within 10 days)
Section 22.1-313 of the Code of Virginia deals generally with school board decisions.  Although the section focuses largely on administrative requirements for school board proceedings, subsection F imposes a duty on school boards to report certain cases of misconduct to the Board of Education.  School boards should provide such notification in writing.

§22.1-313. Decision of school board; generally.
 
F.  In those instances when licensed personnel are dismissed or resign due to a conviction of any felony, any offense involving the sexual molestation, physical or sexual abuse or rape of a child, any offense involving drugs, or due to having become the subject of a founded case of child abuse or neglect, the local school board shall notify the Board of Education within 10 business days of such dismissal or the acceptance of such resignation [emphasis added].

Records Checks and Certification Relating to the Hiring of School Personnel

Fingerprinting and Criminal Record Check
Under §22.1-296.2 of the Code of Virginia, school boards must require any applicant who is offered or accepts employment to submit to fingerprinting and provide information needed to obtain a criminal history record.

Child Abuse and Neglect Data (Central Registry Search) 
Section 22.1-296.4 of the Code of Virginia addresses child abuse and neglect data obtained through a search of the Central Registry (https://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/background_index_childrens_facilities/founded_cps_complaints/032-02-0151-12-eng.pdf). Under the statute, the Department of Social Services is required to maintain a database of central child abuse and neglect registries in other states that provide access to out-of-state school boards, for use by local school boards (http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/background_index_childrens_facilities/founded_cps_complaints/other_states_req_for_central_registry.pdf).
 
Other Data Required on Employment Application, Including Certification by Applicant Relating to Criminal Offenses and Founded Cases of Child Abuse or Neglect
Section 22.1-296.1 describes other data that school boards shall require on their employment application. 

§22.1-296.1. Data on convictions for certain crimes and child abuse and neglect required; penalty. 

A. As a condition of employment for all of its public school employees, whether full-time or part-time, permanent, or temporary, every school board shall require on its application for employment certification (i) that the applicant has not been convicted of a felony or any offense involving the sexual molestation, physical or sexual abuse or rape of a child; and (ii) whether the applicant has been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude. Any person making a materially false statement regarding any such offense shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and upon conviction, the fact of said conviction shall be grounds for the Board of Education to revoke such person’s license to teach.*

B. Every school board shall also require on its application for employment, as a condition of employment requiring direct contact with students, whether full-time or part-time, permanent, or temporary, certification that the applicant has not been the subject of a founded case of child abuse and neglect. Any person making a materially false statement regarding a finding of child abuse and neglect shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and upon conviction, the fact of said conviction shall be grounds for the Board of Education to revoke such person’s license to teach…. 

*NOTE:  In December 2015, the Supreme Court of Virginia in the case of Deilia Butler v. Fairfax County School Board (Case No. 150150) addressed this section of the Code and, specifically, whether it prohibits local school boards from hiring an individual who has been previously convicted of a felony.  The Superintendent of Public Instruction notified divisions of the court’s decision by Superintendent’s Memorandum #125-16 in April 2016, and divisions may access the decision online at: http://www.courts.state.va.us/opinions/opnscvwp/1150150.pdf.

Review of Department of Education’s Listing of Adverse Actions Against Licenses Since 2000
A listing of licenses/endorsements denied, revoked, cancelled, or suspended by the Board of Education since 2000 is available online at the following web site:

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/teaching/licensure/license_actions.pdf.

Such actions are reported each month to division superintendents in Virginia and to other state departments of education through a national clearinghouse.

Divisions should consider checking the list when hiring any school personnel, including those who do not require a license, such as substitutes, bus drivers, instructional assistants, coaches, and others who have contact with students.  
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